Bharat Stories
Light of Knowledge

Varahagiri Venkata Giri Biography

0 367

About Varahagiri Venkata Giri

Born on the 10th of August, 1894, Varahagiri Venkata Giri, popularly known as V.V. Giri, was the fourth president of the Republic of India, and his tenure lasted from the 24th of August 1969 until 24th August 1974, for a period of five years.

Born in Odisha, he pursued his education from various places like Berhampur, the University of Dublin, and was expelled from the country of Ireland in the year 1916, which led him to join the Indian National Congress Party, after he returned to India.

He was an active member in the trade union movement and also founded the All India Railwaymen’s Federation. He had been an active member in the Civil Disobedience Movement as well as the Non-cooperation Movement and was even arrested during this participation.

In the year 1937, he became a member of the Madras Legislative Assembly and also served as the Minister for Labor till the same year, a post he was again assigned in the year 1946.

He was sworn in as the president of India in 1969, succeeding Zakir Hussain and has won a number of honor and awards, which include the Bharat Ratna Award after his tenure as the president ended.

He passed away on the 23rd of June, 1980, at the age of 85.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.