Bharat Stories
Light of Knowledge

Jharkhand Assembly election Results: Winners and Losers


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The results, for the Jharkhand Assembly election in 2019 were announced on Monday, December 23rd. The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) Congress alliance emerged victorious dealing another blow to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in terms of state losses this year. In the 2019 Jharkhand polls the BJP secured victory in 25 Assembly constituencies while the JMM Congress RJD alliance won a total of 47 seats out of the 81 member Jharkhand Assembly.

Prior to this the Assemblys term was scheduled to conclude on December 27th. The Legislative Assembly elections were conducted in Jharkhand, India from November 30th to December 20th aiming to elect members for the term of the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly. These election results garnered attention from both analysts and the general public as they were perceived as a critical test for assessing BJPs popularity within the state.

The victory attained by the JMM Congress RJD alliance in Jharkhand is viewed as a setback for BJP, which previously held a majority with its dominance over 37 seats within the House. Furthermore this outcome is considered a boost for opposition parties who have been striving to counter BJPs influence, on Indias landscape.

An overview of the results, from the Jharkhand Election in 2019 reveals that the alliance between JMM, Congress and RJD emerged as the winners by securing 47 out of 81 seats. Despite having a majority in the assembly with 37 seats the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was only able to win 25 assembly constituencies in the election.

Breaking down the numbers further we find that BJP obtained 33.37% of the vote share while INC received 13.88% JMM secured 18.72% AJSU got 8.10% JVMP secured 5.45% and Others accounted for a vote share of 17.73%.

Looking at voter turnout during the election in Jharkhand in 2019 it stood at a rate of 66.53%. This translated to a total of 13,12,76,035 voters exercising their right to cast their votes across Phase 1 and Phase 2 of Lok Sabha Elections.

In terms of seat distribution as per Jharkhand Election Results for that year we observe that the alliance between JMM, Congress and RJD won a total of 47 seats outshining BJPs victory in about half with its win count reaching up to only25 Assembly constituencies.

Overall these results showcased a shift in Jharkhands landscape as we witnessed an alliance, between JMM Congress RJD triumphing over BJP. The significant voter turnout also signifies a growing interest, in the process among the people of Jharkhand.

Major Political Parties and Candidates

Key Political Parties

During the Jharkhand Assembly Elections there was a competition between the BJP and the Congress alliance, which consisted of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). The BJP fielded candidates in all 81 seats while the Congress alliance contested in 43 seats with JMM contesting in 43 seats Congress in 31 seats and RJD in 7 seats.
Prominent Candidates

Incumbent Chief Minister Raghubar Das from BJP contested from Jamshedpur East whereas Hemant Soren, the Chief candidate from the Congress alliance contested from Dumka and Barhait. Laxman Gilua, BJPs state president stood for elections in Chakradharpur while Sita Soren. Hemant Sorens sister in law. Contested from Jama representing JMM.

Other notable candidates included Deepak Prakash, BJPs state vice president who ran for Ranchi seat and Sukhdeo Bhagat from Congress who contested from Lohardaga. Babulal Marandi, president of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) participated as a candidate in Dhanwar.

The election results demonstrated that the Congress alliance emerged as winners by securing 47, out of 81 seats while BJP managed to secure 25 seats. JMM won 30 seats; Congress won 16 seats;. Rjd secured one seat.

The AJSU Party, in a coalition, with the BJP secured 2 seats whereas the JVM(P) obtained 3 seats. Independent candidates emerged victorious in the remaining 4 seats.

Election Statistics and Analysis

Voter Turnout

During the 2019 Jharkhand Legislative Assembly election a total of 65.17% of registered voters exercised their right to vote with a turnout of 37,83,055 out of 58,12,710. The Sisai constituency witnessed the voter turnout at 76.70% while Jamshedpur East had the lowest at 45.99%.

Winning Margins

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) Congress Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) alliance secured a majority by winning 47 out of the 81 assembly seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 25 seats while AJSU bagged 2 and JVM claimed victory in 3 seats.

In some constituencies winning margins were quite narrow. For instance the JMM candidate won seat by a margin of only768 votes. Similarly in Kolebira constituency the JMM candidate emerged as victor with a margin of just965 votes. Conversely, in Simdega constituency the BJP candidate secured victory witha marginof1,159votes.

In the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly election the JMM Congress RJD alliance emerged as the winner securing a comfortable majority of 47 seats. This outcome carries implications, for governance in the state.

The defeat of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) indicates that the electorate is dissatisfied with the partys performance in Jharkhand. Despite winning in 2014 this time the BJP has lost many of its strongholds.

The JMM led alliance, consisting of the Congress and RJD has received a mandate from voters. They have pledged to address pressing issues such as unemployment, poverty and corruption that afflict the people of Jharkhand. The new government will need to work to fulfill these promises and rebuild trust in our process.

Public and political reactions, to these election results have been varied. Supporters of the JMM led alliance are celebrating their victory while BJP supporters find themselves disappointed with this outcome. The BJP has acknowledged their defeat. Vowed to put in effort to regain the trust of the people.

The Congress party and its coalition partners have warmly received the election results attributing their success to the peoples rejection of the BJPs politics. Additionally they have urged all opposition parties to join forces and challenge the BJP, in Assembly elections in states.

In summary the Jharkhand Assembly election results have delivered a message to the ruling party at the level. The people of Jharkhand have expressed their dissatisfaction with the performance of the BJP in their state emphasizing that it will require efforts, from the government to fulfill their promises made during campaigning.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.