Bharat Stories
Light of Knowledge

About Urdu Language

0 355

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Urdu Language

A popular standardized register of the Hindustani language, Urdu happens to be the national language of India’s neighboring state of Pakistan. In India, it happens to be the official language of five of the states.

These Indian states are Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Telangana, Jammu & Kashmir, as well as the capital city of New Delhi.

Coming to the dialects of the language, Urdu has a list of recognized dialects, which mainly are Dakhni, Rekhta, and then the modern vernacular Urdu. The language’s implications in terms of script and verbal dialects differ from state to state.

For instance, in the state of Odisha, the Urdu spoken is way different from what it is spoken elsewhere, as in Odisha, the Urdu is a mixture of both Odia as well as Bihari.

Historically, Urdu is fundamentally etched with all the Muslims in the country, and is often in contrast with standard Hindi, which is the official language of India.

Urdu found its official roots in India during the British rule itself, when the British rulers had confirmed the official status of English as well as Urdu in the country in the states of Jammu & Kashmir and Punjab, replacing Persian language alongside few other local official languages in the years 1946-1849.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.