Bharat Stories
Light of Knowledge

About Savara Language

0 566

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Savara Language

Belonging to the family of Munda languages, Savara is also known by multiple other names. These are Saora, Saonras, Shabari, Sabar, Saura, Sawaria, Swara, and Sabara.

According to the census of 2001, Savara language has around 3,00,000 native speakers, mainly residing in the southern parts of the Indian state of Odisha.

Coming to the script used for write-ups in Savara language, they are: Latin script, Telugu script, as well as the Sorang Sompeng script, a special script devised solely for the language in the year 1936. It is said that the most popular dialect of Savara language is called Juray.

Other than the state of Odisha, Savara speaking communities also reside in small numbers in other Indian states like Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, as well as the plain divisions of the north eastern state of Assam.

The language has 18 consonants and 8 vowels. It has been observed that most of the people with Savara as their native language have the same as their surnames.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.